Nodular tenosynovitis of a finger is the most common pathology of the hand after carpal tunnel syndrome. Symptomatology can range from a simple painful discomfort in the palm of the hand during flexion and extension movements of a finger, to a painful blocking of the finger in flexion, sometimes irreducible.

Origin

In order to understand the origin of the finger, it is necessary to know the anatomical layout of the flexor tendons in the fingers and the hand. These tendons follow the muscular body located in the forearm. They run across the palm and end at the tips of the fingers. When the fingers are flexed, the flexor tendons do not catch the string thanks to a system of reflection pulleys "that press them against the phalanges". To disturb the functioning of the tendon-pulley system, a simple thickening of the tendon (called tenosynovitis) is enough to cause a difficulty of sliding of the tendon which can go until the blocking of this one in the pulley. This is what happens when a finger jerk occurs: it is a chronic inflammation that establishes a vicious circle: the rubbing of the tendon aggravates the inflammation, which thickens the tendon, thus increasing the rubbing. A nodule is created on the tendon path which will block the sliding of the tendon in the pulley, causing a painful blocking in flexion of the finger.

The causes

The chronic inflammation necessary for the development of a protruding finger can be caused by:

- a repetitive or intensive manual movement

- an infection of a finger

- a history of wounding in the area of the tendon-pulley system

- an inflammatory disease (rheumatoid arthritis)

- diabetes

- more rarely, the protruding finger may be congenital, with a predominance of damage on the thumb.

Typical warning signs

The first sign of a sticking finger is often a pain located at the base of the finger on the palm side (palmar side). Applying pressure to this area can trigger or accentuate this pain. It is located in the area of conflict between the tendon and the pulley, the area where the inflammation and the nodule will settle.

Signs

There is either a delay in the extension of the finger, or a blocking of the finger in flexion, which straightens out with a protrusion phenomenon. In the most advanced forms, there is an irreducible locking of the finger in flexion.

On clinical examination, the physician can observe this visually by having the patient move his finger. The examination reveals pain in the palm of the hand in the axis of the protruding finger, but also the presence of a lump corresponding to the tendon nodule.

Medical treatment

When the pain appears after a recent and prolonged unusual effort, a treatment associating rest of the finger, analgesic and anti-inflammatory medication is sufficient at first. It allows to stop the inflammatory phenomenon.

When the symptomatology has been present for several weeks or even several months, an infiltration of corticoids into the inflamed tendon sheath may be necessary, when there are no contraindications (allergy, diabetes ...). This is an effective, albeit relatively painful, method of reducing local inflammation.

These anti-inflammatory treatments (by oral intake, by injection) will only be effective if there is no painful blockage.

Surgical treatment

If anti-inflammatory treatments are ineffective or if there is a painful blockage when the finger is flexed, surgery will have to be performed under loco-regional anaesthesia, on an outpatient basis. It consists in removing the nodule and the peri-tendinous inflammation. It is performed by a mini-invasive surgery (mini-incision) which allows immediate reuse of the operated finger after the operation. The disappearance of the blockage is also immediate. A few re-education sessions are performed to allow for an even faster recovery. In most cases, recovery is complete in about three weeks. There is usually no post-operative pain. Complications are rare.

en_USEnglish

Doigt à ressaut

en-coursLe doigt à ressaut (ou ténosynovite nodulaire d’un doigt) est la pathologie de la main la plus fréquente après le syndrome du canal carpien. La symptomatologie peut aller d’une simple gêne douloureuse au niveau de la paume de la main lors des mouvements de flexion et d’extension d’un doigt, jusqu’à un blocage douloureux du doigt en flexion, blocage parfois irréductible.

 

Origine

Pour comprendre l’origine du doigt à ressaut, il faut connaître la disposition anatomique des tendons fléchisseurs au niveau des doigts et de la main. Ces tendons font suite au corps musculaire situé à l’avant-bras. Ils traversent la paume et se terminent à l’extrémité des doigts. Lors de la flexion de ces derniers, les tendons fléchisseurs ne prennent pas la corde grâce à un système de poulie de réflexion « qui les plaquent contre les phalanges ». Pour perturber le fonctionnement du système tendon-poulie, il suffit d’un simple épaississement du tendon ( appelé ténosynovite ) pour entraîner une difficulté de coulissement du tendon pouvant aller jusqu’au blocage de celui-ci dans la poulie. C’est ce qui se produit lors du doigt à ressaut : il s’agit d’une inflammation chronique qui établit un cercle vicieux : le frottement du tendon aggrave l’inflammation, qui épaissit le tendon, augmentant ainsi le frottement. Il se crée un nodule sur le trajet tendineux qui va bloquer le coulissement du tendon dans la poulie occasionnant un blocage douloureux en flexion du doigt.

 

Les causes

L’inflammation chronique nécessaire à l’apparition d’un doigt à ressaut peut avoir comme causes :

-          un geste manuel répétitif ou intensif

-          une infection d’un doigt

-          un antécédent de plaie dans la zone du système tendon-poulie

-          une maladie inflammatoire ( polyarthrite rhumatoïde )

-          un diabète

-          plus rarement le doigt à ressaut peut-être congénital, avec une prédominance d’atteinte sur le pouce.

 

Signes précurseurs caractéristiques

Le premier signe du doigt à ressaut est souvent une douleur située à la base du doigt côté paume ( face palmaire ). Exercer une pression sur cette zone peut déclencher ou accentuer cette douleur. Elle est située dans la zone de conflit entre le tendon et la poulie, zone où va s’installer l’inflammation et le nodule.

Signes

On peut constater soit un retard à l’extension du doigt, soit un blocage du doigt en flexion, qui se redresse avec un phénomène de ressaut. Dans les formes les plus évoluées, on retrouve un blocage irréductible du doigt en flexion.

A l’examen clinique, le médecin peut le constater de visu en faisant mobiliser le doigt du patient. L’examen retrouve une douleur en paume de main dans l’axe du doigt à ressaut mais aussi la présence d’une grosseur correspondant au nodule tendineux.

Traitement médical

Lorsque les douleurs sont apparues après un effort inhabituel prolongé et récent, un traitement associant repos du doigt, médication antalgique et anti-inflammatoire est suffisant dans un premier temps. Il permet d’endiguer le phénomène inflammatoire.

Lorsque la symptomatologie s’est installée depuis plusieurs semaines voire plusieurs mois, une infiltration de corticoïdes dans la gaine tendineuse enflammée peut s’avérer nécessaire, lorsqu’il n’y a pas de contre-indication (allergie, diabète …). C’est une méthode efficace quoique relativement douloureuse, consistant à atténuer l’inflammation locale.

Ces traitements anti-inflammatoires (par prise orale, par injection) ne seront efficaces que dans la mesure où il n’y a pas de blocage douloureux

Traitement chirurgical

En cas d’inefficacité des traitements anti-inflammatoires ou en cas de blocage douloureux en flexion du doigt, une intervention chirurgicale devra être réalisée et aura lieu sous anesthésie loco régionale, en ambulatoire. Elle consiste en l’exérèse du nodule et de l’inflammation péri-tendineuse. Elle est réalisée par une chirurgie mini invasive (mini incision) qui permet une réutilisation immédiate du doigt opéré après l’intervention. La disparition du blocage est aussi immédiate. Quelques séances de rééducation sont réalisées afin de permettre une récupération encore plus rapide. Le plus souvent, elle est complète à trois semaines environ. Il n’y a classiquement pas de douleurs post-opératoires. Les complications sont rares.

 

A venir
A venir

Imprimer cette fiche